The Department of Quantity Surveying was instituted at the beginning of the 1970 academic year as part of the University of Port Elizabeth. On 1 January 2005 the University of Port Elizabeth, the Port Elizabeth Technikon and Vista University merged to form the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University. In 2017 the Nelson Mandela Metroplitan University was renamed Nelson Mandela University. There are five full-time and three part-time staff members presenting the BSc Construction Economics and BSc Hons Quantity Surveying programmes.  With these dedicated staff members the Department of Quantity Surveying has developed into a well established unit which maintains standards of excellence at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.


Our vision is to be the first choice provider of professional career orientated education in Quantity Surveying.


We are a people centered department offering national and internationally recognised academic programmes. We deliver sought after graduates and provide innovative solutions and services to the built environment and the community.


The educational philosophy of the Department is that in the department learners are encouraged to become active learners, to participate in the communication process and to develop an enquiring mind as a life skill; the boundaries of technology, science and philosophy are extended through research; academic horizons are widened in partnership with the basic sciences, both in content and methodology. Fundamental education is perceived as the key to the development of innovative and creative skills.


The BSc Construction Economics and BSc Honours Quantity Surveying degree programmes are accredited by the RICS (Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors) (United Kingdom) and the South African Council for the Quantity Surveying Profession. Our motto "Quantifying tomorrow"

Contact information
Mr Roy Cumberlege
Head of Department
Tel: +27 41 504 3020